42nd Annual Proudly Saskatchewan Showcase Winners

Congratulations and thanks to everybody who participated in this year’s Proudly Saskatchewan Showcase July 7th at The Tap in Regina. Participants included Brock Fehr, Justine Sletten, Amy Nelson, Kendra Kahl, Brett Michael Monka, Micah Walbaum, Val Halla, Jarrid Lee, Shayna Scherbey, and Tayler Tluchak.

Our participants competed for the chance to win a recording and consultation session with Open Road Recordings, the home of the Hunter Brothers, Tim Hicks, Dean Brody, and several others. They will help in finding this year’s winner the right song to launch their career. The winner will also get to perform a four song set on the Country Thunder main stage this Sunday, and air play on 620 CKRM. Second place received $500 and third place received $250. They will also get to perform Sunday afternoon at Country Thunder. There was also a $500 cash bounty for best original song by a participant.

Thanks to our sponsors this year, Open Road Recordings, The Tap, SaskMusic, and the Saskatchewan Country Music Association.

Congrats to this year’s winners:

Spirit of Saskatchewan award for best original song: Val Hall of Regina

Fred King Memorial Award for Most Promising Entertainer: Micah Walbaum of Forget, SK (she also got 3rd place)

2nd place: Brock Fehr of Saskatoon

1st place and winner of the Sheila Ann Memorial award: Amy Nelson of Regina.

Click HERE for a video of the winners.

(pictured: Amy Nelson)


More from 620 CKRM