20 Saskatchewan communities to receive flood mapping

The federal and provincial governments, as well as the Water Security Agency, is contributing more than one million dollars to conduct flood mapping of 20 high-risk communities in Saskatchewan.

The area includes Regina, Saskatoon, Moose Jaw, Weyburn and Yorkton, as well as several other towns and villages that would benefit from obtaining flood maps and hydraulic modelling. No cost is being taken on by the communities who are receiving flood mapping.

Vice-President of the Water Security Agency Sam Ferris said crews will gather the information to prepare for the worst.

“This helps the communities plan to address flood zone mapping as well as flood prevention in terms of keeping development in flood-prone areas away.”

Ferris said eventually, infrastructure will need to be put in place to prevent flooding.

“One example would be Arborfield, which can be affected by cloudbursts or spring run-off events,” Ferris said. “Simply divert that water around the community and prevent flooding, so construction of actual dikes and whatnot.”

Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Ralph Goodale said flood mapping and water infrastructure projects have proven to be valuable in Saskatchewan, including one example from flooding that took place in 2013 in Calgary and High River, Alberta.

“All of that water moving down ultimately the South Saskatchewan River, that would ultimately have done very serious damage in Saskatoon had it not been for the South Saskatchewan River project that was built in the 1950’s and ’60’s, and controlled the flow.”

By 2030, the Water Security Agency is aiming to have every community that’s at-risk for flooding to have a flood map completed.

More from 620 CKRM