Liberals win minority government; Conservatives sweep Saskatchewan with Goodale as removed as M.P

Justin Trudeau has held on to power as the Liberals will form a minority government.

The Liberals, who held a majority after the last federal election, were elected or leading in 156 ridings with the Conservatives elected or leading in 121 ridings.  The Bloc Quebecois was third with 32 followed by the NDP at 25, the Green Party at three and one independent.

While Trudeau and the Liberals have a minority government, there will be no MP’s from Saskatchewan as all 14 seats went to the Conservatives including a major upset in Regina-Wascana where Ralph Goodale was defeated after serving as the MP for the constituency since 1993.  Goodale was soundly defeated by Conservative Michael Kram in what was seen by many as a distinct shot against Trudeau.  Others winning seats for the Conservatives were:

  • Warren Steinley (Regina Lewvan)
  • Andrew Scheer (Regina Qu’Appelle)
  • Tom Lukiwski (Moose Jaw-Lake Centre-Lanigan)
  • Robert Kitchen (Souris-Moose Mountain)
  • Cathay Wagantall (Yorkton-Melville)
  • Jeremy Patzer (Cypress Hills-Grasslands)
  • Kevin Waugh (Saskatoon Grasswood)
  • Corey Tochor (Saskatoon University)
  • Brad Redekopp (Saskatoon West)
  • Rosemarie Falk (Battlefords-Lloydminster)
  • Kelly Block (Carlton Trail-Eagle Creek)
  • Randy Hoback (Prince Albert)
  • Gary Vidal ( Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River)


Tochor and Steinley were former Saskatchewan Party MLAs who are now first-time MP’s.  Patzer is also a first time MP as he takes over for long-time Conservative David Anderson in Cypress Hills-Grasslands.  Vidal, Redekopp and Falk are also heading to Ottawa for the first time.

More from 620 CKRM