Team Saskatchewan wins WHL Cup

Team Saskatchewan has won the WHL Cup for the first time.

The tournament, which features teams from Manitoba, Alberta, BC and Saskatchewan, was played over the last week in Calgary with Team Saskatchewan beating Manitoba 4-2 in the gold-medal game.

Power-play goals 99 seconds apart in the second period by Vaughn Watterodt (Rosetown/ Kamloops Blazers) and Kylynn Olafson (Lanigan/ Edmonton Oil Kings) put Saskatchewan ahead for good in the contest.

Other Saskatchewan goals came from Tye Spencer (Saskatoon/Kamloops Blazers) and Eric Johnson (Regina/Edmonton Oil Kings).

Saskatchewan goalie Dylan Ernst (Weyburn/Kamloops Blazers) and forward Carter Dereniwsky (Canora/Victoria Royals) were named to the tournament all-star team

This is the eighth time that the WHL Cup has been played for.  A majority of those in the tournament have been selected in the 2019 WHL Bantam Draft or have been listed by a club in the league.

Some of those to have taken part in the event over the past eight years include Morgan Rielly, Sam Steel, Matt Barzal and Ethan Bear.



More from 620 CKRM