Western Canadian Baseball League loses two teams

The Western Canadian Baseball League has gone from 12 teams to 10.

The Yorkton Cardinals and Melville Millionaires have both been granted a one-year absence with both hoping to return to the diamond in 2021.

A release from the  league says the move is being made  so that both can “work to improve their baseball operations and financial structures.

It means the Medicine Hat Mavericks will move from the Western Division to the Eastern Division where they will now join the Regina Red Sox, Moose Jaw Miller Express, Swift Current 57’s and Weyburn Beavers.

The 2020 season will consist of 56 games followed by playoffs with the first games being played in the final week of May.

Meanwhile, the league is also announcing award winners and all-star teams.

The MVP is Kaleb Warden of the Lethbridge Bulls.  He hot .369 this season with 12 HR and 66 RBI’s.

Several members of the Red Sox were named all-stars.  Making the first team squad were

  • Michael Batten (SP)
  • Heibert Romero (RP)
  • Jackson Cofer  (RP)
  • Griffin Keller (1B)
  • Ivan Nunez (2B)
  • Adam De La Cruz (SS)

Making the second team were

  • Austin Alarid (SP)
  • Sam De La Cruz (3B)
  • Ryan Eastburn (OF)
  • Wesley Moss (OF)


More from 620 CKRM