Five Riders join the 2019 CFL All-Star team

Five Saskatchewan Roughriders have been named to the CFL’s 2019 All-Star team.

Quarterback Cody Fajardo lead the Riders to a 13-5 record and first place in the West Division for the first time since 2009. The first-year starter led the league with 4,302 passing yards. Fajardo threw for 18 touchdowns in 2019 and added an additional 611 rushing yards and 10 touchdowns.  He was named a Top Performer of the Week in weeks three, eight and 20. Fajardo was also named the West Division’s Most Outstanding Player.

Other Saskatchewan players on the All-Star team include Receiver Shaq Evans, Centre Dan Clark, Defensive End Charleston Hughes and Cover Linebacker Derrick Moncrief.

Evans registered 72 receptions for 1,334 receiving yards and five touchdowns.

Clark averaged 112.8 yards per game for a total of 2,030 yards and a league-high 26 rushing touchdowns.

Hughes had a league-leading 16 sacks, while also adding 50 tackles, four forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

Moncrief recorded a career-high 69 defensive tackles, four special teams tackles, three interceptions, four sacks, and one forced fumble.

The All-Stars were selected by members of the Football Reporters of Canada and CFL head coaches. In total, 49 voters contributed to the selection of the 27 all-stars.

More from 620 CKRM