Roughriders unveil coaching staff for 2020 season

The Saskatchewan Roughriders have confirmed their coaching staff for the 2020 CFL season.

In a media release on Monday morning, the club announced the nine coaches who will work under head coach Craig Dickenson.

On the offensive side of things, Jason Maas leads the way as the team’s new offensive coordinator, replacing former OC Stephen McAdoo.


Tim Prinsen comes in as the new running backs coach for the Riders. Previously, he served as the running backs coach for the Edmonton Eskimos where he helped coach running back C.J. Gable to a 1,000-yard season last year. Prinsen is also a two-time Grey Cup champion.

Josh Lambert rejoins the Riders as the team’s offensive assistant after spending two years as an offensive coordinator with Acadia University. He was employed as the Riders’ video, research and development department from 2015 to 2018. Lambert has more than 15 years of coaching experience at the U Sports level.

Receivers coach Travis Moore returns for a third season, while Stephen Sorrells is back for a fourth year as the club’s offensive line coach.

Jason Shivers will command the defensive side of the game for the Roughriders in his sophomore campaign as the defensive coordinator.

Newcomer Deion Melvin joins the Green and White as the linebackers coach. Melvin has 30+ years of coaching experience. His most recent venture was with the Western Illinois Leathernecks where he coached their defensive run game and their linebackers.

Defensive backs boss Richard Kent is back for a third year.

Kent Maugeri enters his fifth season with the Riders as the special teams coach. Craig Dickenson will also handle the role of special teams coordinator.

The Riders say they will make an announcement regarding their defensive line coach position in the coming weeks.

More from 620 CKRM