Hunter Brothers lead the way in nominations for Saskatchewan Country Music Awards

The nominees for the 31st Annual Saskatchewan Country Music Awards were announced this weekend by the Saskatchewan Country Music Association.

The final nominees in the 29 categories represent Saskatchewan’s top musicians and industry personnel as recognized by their peers and Board of Directors.

Juno nominees, The Hunter Brothers, lead the charge with seven nominations in the categories of Group of the Year, Album of the Year, Video of the Year, Interactive Artist of the Year, and Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year as well as two nominees for Single of the Year for Lost and Northern Lights. Band members Luke, Dusty and JJ Hunter were also nominated for their individual instrumental talents as bass player, drummer and guitar player.

Tenille Arts follows close behind with six nominees for Female Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, Interactive Artist of the Year, Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year, Single of the Year and Video of the Year. Tenille shares the company of Amy Nelson in three of those categories with nominations for Female Artist of the Year, Interactive Artist of The Year, and Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year. Amy rounded out her five nominations with Album of the Year and Keyboard Player of the Year.

Samara Yung joins the leading men, Chris Henderson, Justin LaBrash, and Brody Siebert who each garnered four mentions.

“On behalf of the Saskatchewan Country Music Association we are proud of all our nominees,” commented SCMA President Wes LaBrash. “Whether they are an emerging artist, a pro artist, venue, producer, media company, radio station, an on air personality, a festival, musician, songwriter, Director, or an industry promoter, they are vital to country music in this province and they deserve our support.”

The 2020 SCMA Awards weekend will be taking place April 17th, 18th, and 19th in Regina with the final awards being presented on the televised awards show the evening of April 18th.

More from 620 CKRM