“A Honkin Big Victory”; Saskatchewan Party forms 4th straight majority government

Four Moe Years!

Saskatchewan voters overwhelmingly endorsed Scott Moe and the Saskatchewan Party as the party of choice as they captured a fourth straight majority in convincing fashion Monday night.

With some close races needed to be decided by mail-in ballot, the Saskatchewan Party have been re-elected or are leading in 50 of the 61 ridings available.

Moe spent election night in Saskatoon after voting in his home riding of Shellbrook earlier in the day, saying he went into the campaign asking Saskatchewan voters a question as to who they trusted to lead them out of the pandemic, and they emphatically answered him.

“We got the answer, and we got the answer loud and clear,” said Moe. “It is a great honour, and it is a tremendous responsibility to know that Saskatchewan voters answered that question by saying we trust the Saskatchewan Party.”

As for the NDP, it became obvious as the numbers started coming up that any optimism they were feeling had been squashed by the Saskatchewan Party.

While it was not a night he had been hoping for, Leader Ryan Meili tried to remain optimistic that the seeds of change had been planted.

“My message tonight is for those who voted for change because there are thousands upon thousands of people across Saskatchewan who voted for change today.” Meili said. “This is not the end. This is the beginning. Do not give up, because in Saskatchewan we can do so much better than what we’ve seen.”

Meili made the comments not knowing if he would be returning as an MLA as he was in a close battle in his Saskatoon-Meewasin riding as he is currently trailing the Sask. Party’s Rylund Hunter by less than 100 votes Tuesday morning. That is one of several close races meaning  a winner won’t be determined until mail-in ballots are counted.  Over 61,000 decided to cast a vote by mail, with a majority of those doing so because of COVID-19.

In Regina, the NDP held on to several ridings with Carla Beck, Nicole Sarauer and Trent Wotherspoon being re-elected with Meara Conway becoming a first-time MLA as she won Elphinstone-Centre to keep the seat with the NDP as that riding had been held by Warren McCall who didn’t seek re-election.

The Saskatchewan Party also maintained seats with Gene Makowsky being re-elected in Regina Gardiner Park, Laura Ross in Rochdale, and Christine Tell in Regina Wascana-Plains.  The Saskatchewan Party also captured Regina Northeast with Gary Grewal taking the seat.   The SaskParty had lost that seat in a byelection when Grewal was defeated by the NDP’s Yens Pedersen.  Derek Meyers also grabbed Regina Walsh Acres in what was a very interesting result as independent Sandra Morin, who had her candidacy revoked by Meili, got enough votes to prevent the NDP from capturing the seat left open when the Saskatchewan Party’s Warren Stienley left to pursue federal politics.

While they did not win a seat, the Buffalo Party finished second in some ridings including Kindersley, Estevan and Cypress Hills.

A complete list of winners can be found here.



More from 620 CKRM