Crime Watch Advisory Network expands to more Sask. communities

The province’s Crime Watch Advisory Network is expanding to more communities.

The network, which provides residents who sign up for the service with criminal activity advisories in their areas from police services via text messages, emails or phone calls, will now include municipal police and conservation officers.

Agencies included in the expansion are:

The expansion will add the following agencies:

  • Weyburn Police Service;
  • Moose Jaw Police Service;
  • Prince Albert Police Service;
  • Wilton Police Service;
  • Corman Park Police Service;
  • Dalmeny Police Service; and
  • Ministry of Environment/Conservation Officer Service.

“The expansion of the Saskatchewan Crime Watch Advisory Network will increase communication and engagement between citizens and law enforcement,” stated Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety Christine Tell in a news release. “It’s a safe, reliable, and efficient service that will help keep our communities safe.”

Since it was created, the crime watch network has helped police receive tips which help law enforcement solve cases ranging from vehicle thefts to fraud.

The network was first used by RCMP in southern Saskatchewan before the decision to expand to other agencies. About 15,000 residents have registered for the network.

People can sign up and learn more by visiting the Saskatchewan Crime Watch website.

More from 620 CKRM