Go-ahead given for WHL’s US Division to start play

Teams in the United States division of the Western Hockey League can start play March 19.

This follows an update from Washington State regarding Sporting Activities COVID-19 Requirements issued on February 1, which allows the WHL to return to play in Washington State.

The WHL’s five U.S. Division teams – the Everett Silvertips, Portland Winterhawks, Seattle Thunderbirds, Spokane Chiefs, and Tri-City Americans – will play games exclusively within the Division during the 2020-21 Regular Season.. The league has developed an extensive set of protocols to not only provide a safe environment for players and staff, but to protect residents of Washington State in the community. Further details on these protocols will be announced at a later date.  Games will be played in front of no fans.

This means two of the four divisions in the league have been given permission to play games with the Central Division featuring Alberta teams being allowed to do so beginning February 26.

The Eastern Division and BC Division are still waiting for approval from authorities in Saskatchewan and British Columbia before going ahead.


More from 620 CKRM