Connor Bedard named WHL’s top rookie

In news that should not come as a surprise, the Western Hockey League’s rookie of the year is Regina Pats forward Connor Bedard.

The 15-year-old, who was the first WHL player to have been granted exceptional status by Hockey Canada, lived up to expectations and then some.

In 15 games, he had 12 goals and 16 assists for 28 points.  In 10 of his 15 games, he had multi-point games.

Bedard becomes the sixth member of the club to win the Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy as the rookie of the year. Others to have taken the honour were  Jeff Friesen (1992-93), Dale Derkatch (1981-82), Dave Michayluk (1980-81), Dennis Sobchuk (1971-72) and Ron Garwasiuk.

He spoke with Derek Taylor on the SportsCage Wednesday afternoon and said it was the season every rookie strives for.

“Yeah it’s pretty cool, I mean coming in into the year it’s the goal for I think a lot of rookies, it’s definitely something you strive to get and being able to get it is pretty cool,” Bedard said.

When Bedard left the Pats to play for Team Canada at the World Under 18’s he was leading the WHL in scoring.

More from 620 CKRM