Riders announce final training camp cuts

The Saskatchewan Roughriders revealed their training camp cuts and through it, answered some questions about their starting roster.

The Riders appear ready to start four Canadians on the offensive line. Dan Clark, Evan Johnson, Brett Boyko and Josiah St. John all made the final roster. Two American linemen, Cameron Jefferson and Andrew Lauderdale, were moved to the practice roster. Terran Vaughn is the only American lineman on the roster.

The team’s depth at Canadian receiver shines through on the final roster. Five National players are on the list, including former Regina Ram Mitchell Picton. He’s joined by rookie Terrell Jana and returning veterans Brayden Lenius, Justin McInnis and Jake Harty. Harty is poised to play his first CFL game since 2017.

Former NFL first-round pick Paxton Lynch made the opening-game roster. He joins a quarterback depth chart including starter Cody Fajardo and 2nd-year man Isaac Harker.

Here’s the full announcement from the Riders Friday afternoon:

The Saskatchewan Roughriders have announced the following players have been released following training camp’s completion Friday:

  • American defensive back Jeremy Clark
  • National offensive lineman Carter Comeau
  • American quarterback Tom Flacco
  • American offensive lineman Antonio Garcia
  • American defensive back Deiondre’ Hall
  • American defensive lineman Demetrius Harris
  • American wide receiver Carlos Henderson
  • National defensive back Jacob Janke
  • American defensive back Lorenzo Jerome
  • American wide receiver Charone Peake
  • American linebacker Michael Pinckney
  • National fullback David Savard
  • American wide receiver Randy Satterfield
  • American defensive lineman Sterling Shippy
  • American defensive back Michael Stevens
  • American wide receiver Jordan Suell
  • American defensive back DQ Thomas
  • American running back Ralph Webb

The following players have been designated to the practice roster:

  • American defensive back Christian Campbell
  • National defensive lineman Alain Cimankinda
  • National defensive lineman Charbel Dabire
  • American quarterback Mason Fine
  • American linebacker DeMarquis Gates
  • American offensive lineman Cameron Jefferson
  • American defensive lineman Anthony Lanier II
  • American offensive lineman Andrew Lauderdale
  • American wide receiver Ricardo Louis
  • American wide receiver Paul McRoberts
  • American running back Jamal Morrow
  • National wide receiver Kian Schaffer-Baker
  • Global punter Ben Scruton
  • American linebacker Matthew Thomas
  • American defensive back Damon Webb

Two players have returned to school:

  • National linebacker A.J. Allen
  • National offensive lineman Logan Bandy


More from 620 CKRM