Multiple Riders snubbed for West Division All Stars

The Riders, with the second-best record in the division, had only two players voted to the West Division All-Star team. They are Defensive Tackle Micah Johnson and Cornerback Nick Marshall.

Johnson led the CFL with eight tackles for loss, dominating in the interior of the defensive line. Marshall tied for 4th in the division with 3 interceptions.

Defensive ends AC Leonard and Jonathan Woodard led the league with 11 and 10 sacks respectively. Neither earned enough votes at Defensive End to displace the winners–Jackson Jeffcoat and Willie Jefferson of Winnipeg.

And a season of dominant performance from Loucheiz Purifoy went unnoticed on the All-Star team. He was eligible at safety, and finished behind Winnipeg’s Brandon Alexander. Switching positions mid-season to cover for an injury to Mike Edem perhaps cost Purifoy in All Star balloting.

The Bombers led with 15 All-Stars, Calgary had 7 while BC had 3.

Stampeders punter Cody Grace is the first Global player to make a Division All-Star team.

More from 620 CKRM