Three Grey Cup Champs Added to Plaza of Honour

There are more legendary names to add to the rolls of the Plaza of Honour.

The Saskatchewan Roughriders have announced receiver Weston Dressler, linebacker Mike McCullough, and head coach Ken Miller will all be inducted into the “Plaza of Honour” this summer.

All three have hoisted the Grey Cup.

Here are some of the bios, as released by the Saskatchewan Roughriders Foundation, and the “Plaza of Honour” Committee:

Weston Dressler #7,  Receiver:

  • Played eight of his 11 CFL seasons as a Rider
  • Made his CFL Debut on June 28, 2008
  • CFL’s Most Outstanding Rookie in 2008
  • Played in 123 games with the Green and White and saw action in nine playoff games, including two Grey Cups in 2010 and 2013
  • Third all-time in Riders receiving yards and receptions with 7,792 yards and 538 catches
  • Fifth all-time in touchdowns for the Riders with 50
  • Had five seasons with 1000+ receiving yards
  • Led the league with 13 touchdown receptions in 2012
  • Western All-Star in 2009, 2011, 2012, and 2013
  • CFL All-Star in 2012, 2013
  • Grey Cup Champion in 2013

Mike McCullough #45,  Linebacker:

  • Selected in the third round, 23rd overall, in the 2003 CFL Draft
  • Played all 10 years of his career with the Riders
  • Saw action in 185 games for the Green and White, including 110 straight games
  • 17th All-Time in games played in franchise history
  • Second all-time in special teams tackles with 113
  • Had 187 tackles in his career to rank 24th all-time in Roughriders history
  • Played in four Grey Cups: 2007, 2009, 2010, 2013
  • First-ever recipient of the Jake Gaudaur Veterans’ Trophy in 2010
  • Grey Cup Champion in 2007 and 2013

Ken Miller, Head Coach:

  • Began coaching in 1966 and came to the CFL in 2002
  • Was hired as the Roughriders’ offensive coordinator in 2007
  • Led the league in touchdowns scored in 2007 and quarterback Kerry Joseph won the league’s Most Outstanding Player award
  • Named the Head Coach of the Riders in 2008
  • Led the team to a first-place finish in 2009 and back-to-back Grey Cup appearances in 2009 and 2010
  • Resigned as Head Coach in 2010, but remained as Vice President of Football Operations
  • Took over as head coach midway through the 2011 season
  • Had 36 regular season wins and three post-season wins in his four years at the helm
  • Grey Cup Champion in 2007

All honourees will be celebrated August 19th, at halftime during “Rider Legends Night” as the Riders host the BC Lions.

More from 620 CKRM