Regina council approves catalyst committee members

Regina city council has approved 14 of the 16 members for a committee to help shape the City’s downtown core.

The ‘catalyst committee’ comprises 16 members drawn from council members and members of private industry, business improvement districts, and social agencies.

The 14 members of the committee include co-chairs Councillor Bob Hawkins and Tim Reid, CEO of Regina Exhibition Association Limited (REAL).

Councillors Lori Bresciani and Andrew Stevens will also represent council on the committee.

The other members of the committee are:

  • Tiffany Stephenson, who co-chaired REAL’s arena strategic planning committee.
  • Lisa McIntyre, Regina Downtown Business Improvement District board of directors.
  • Jeff Boutilier, vice-chair of the Regina Warehouse Business Improvement District.
  • Chris Lane, president and CEO of Economic Development Regina.
  • Jeff Keshen, president of the University of Regina.
  • Melissa Coomber-Bendtsen, CEO of YWCA Regina.
  • Edmund Bellegarde, former tribal chief and CEO of the File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council.
  • Cindy Kobayashi, Regina Public Library board of directors.
  • Ruth Smillie, former artistic director of the Globe Theatre.
  • Kyle Jeworski, president and CEO of Viterra.

The two vacant positions will be filled with someone involved from the City’s development community and a next-generation leader.

The committee will bring a strategic level of leadership to projects considered within the core of the City, which includes three primary projects. The replacement for the Brandt Centre, a new aquatics facility that would replace the aging Lawson Aquatic Centre, and a feasibility study for a multi-purpose outdoor facility for baseball.

They will intend to develop a recommended site plan for key projects within the core of the City, propose a multi-modal connectivity opportunity, and create a phasing and financing model that considers total Economic Impact.

The committee will meet at least once a month and disband by March 31, 2023.

More from 620 CKRM