Treaty land boundary signs added to Highway 11

Signs marking the border between treaty 6 and treaty 4 were unveiled today near Bladworth.
Lt.-Gov Russ Mirasty and minister responsible for First Nations, Metis and Northern affairs Don McMorris were on hand.
Treaty commissioner Mary Culbertson said in a release that the treaties were were before the province of Saskatchewan was created and they will work to ensure that other treaty boundaries that cross provincial highways will be marked with signs in the coming years.

“This first sign acknowledging the Treaty 4 and 6 boundary is paid for by the province. It is going to spark dialogue and lead to policy changes. It is education!,” said Culbertson in a release.

“I am grateful to the Office of the Treaty Commissioner and the Government of Saskatchewan for working together to officially mark Treaty boundaries along our province’s major highways,” Saskatchewan’s Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty said in a release.

That stretch of Highway 11 sees about 5,000 vehicles daily, the release said.

More from 620 CKRM