Collaros claims second straight Most Outstanding Player Award


Zach Collaros continues to be the talk of Grey Cup week as on Thursday night, as the Winnipeg quarterback was named the Most Outstanding Player for the 2022 season.

It was a successful night for the Bombers squad as they won four awards on the evening with Mike O’Shea being named Coach of the Year, Dalton Schoen was named Most Outstanding Rookie and Stanley Bryant was named the Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman.

The Most Outstanding Canadian Player Award was picked up BC Lions Nathan Rourke, the Most Outstanding Defensive Player went Ottawa defensive tackle Lorenzo Mauldin IV.

Collaros led the CFL in touchdown passes in 2022 with 37, a dozen more than any other player in the league. The 34 year old also recorded his first 4,000 yard season.

The 11 year veteran joins Anthony Calvillo (2008-09) , Doug Flutie (1991-1994 & 1996-97), Dieter Brock (1980-1981) and Jackie Parker (1957-58) to claims consecutive years.

O’Shea also won an award for a second straight season as he became the first coach to repeat as Coach of the Year for the first time since Charlie Taaffe completed the achievement (1999-2000). Bud Grant is the only other coach in Blue Bombers history to win the award for two straight seasons.

Schoen became the seventh Blue Bomber to win Most Outstanding Rookie Award. In his first CFL campaign, the receiver led the league in receiving yards (1,441), average yards per catch (20.6 yards), 30+ yard receptions (12), second down conversion catches (41), and touchdowns (16).

History was made with Bryant winning the Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman Award as he becomes the first player to win the award four times.

It was an impressive season for Rourke in his first full season as a starting quarterback for the BC Lions. As a starter he went 8-2 with 3,349 yards passing and 25 touchdowns. The Ohio product established a new single season CFL record for completion percentage. (78.8%). Rourke also broke the single game record with 488 yards passing. His touchdown percentage also led the CFL this season.

In his first season with the Ottawa REDBLACKS, Mauldin IV collected 17 sacks becoming the first Ottawa player to lead the league in that stat since Angelo Snipes did so in 1992. The defensive tackle had multiple sacks in five games this season.

Former Roughrider, Emmanuel Arceneaux was named this year’s recipient of the Tom Pate Memorial Award. Selected by the CFL Players Association, the award celebrates outstanding sportsmanship and is given to a player who has made significant contributions to the team as well his team’s community association.

The 109th Grey Cup matchup at Mosaic Stadium between the Winnipeg Blue Bombers and the Toronto Argonauts on Sunday is slated for a 5:00 kickoff.

More from 620 CKRM