Knapp wins 2023 Tankard


Regina’s Kelly Knapp was able to claim the 2023 SaskTel Men’s Tankard Championship as he defeated Steve Laycock 5-4 in the finals.

Knapp will now represent Saskatchewan at the Brier in London, Ontario next month.

Sunday’s victory capped off a perfect week for the Regina rink as they won all five of their matchups at Affinity Place.

Along with skip Kelly Knapp, the winning squad is made of third Brennen Jones, second Mike Armstrong, lead Trent Knapp and Dustin Kidby and are based out of the Highland Curling Club.

In the page playoff game on Saturday night, Knapp defeated Laycock 9-4.

Earlier on Sunday in the semi-final matchup, Laycock beat Jason Jacobson 11-8 to advance to the rematch against Knapp.

More from 620 CKRM