Scott Moe Shuffles Cabinet

There are major shuffles and minor shuffles, this one leans towards the major side.

With summer waning, and the legislature due to sit in the fall, this is usually the time to make changes.

Premier Scott Moe had a couple of holes to fill with Don Morgan and Dana Skoropad announcing they were not running in the next election set for October of 2024.  Two other back bench MLA’s have said they won’t be running again, but they will finish their mandates. Morgan will serve the rest of his time as the provincial cabinet secretary.

Some of the changes include Dustin Duncan moving from Education to be the Minister of Crown Investments, Minister of crowns like Sask Power, Sask Energy, Sask Power and SGI.

Jeremy Cockerill is now the provincial education minister.

The size of the cabinet is remaining the same, with 18 members, including the premier.

  • Dustin Duncan becomes Minister of Crown Investments Corporation and Minister responsible for all the major Crowns, including SaskPower, SaskEnergy, SaskTel, SGI and SaskWater, as well as Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission;
  • Christine Tell becomes Minister of Environment;
  • Paul Merriman becomes Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and Minister responsible for the Firearms Secretariat;
  • Lori Carr becomes Minister of Highways;
  • Everett Hindley becomes Minister of Health; and
  • Jeremy Cockrill becomes Minister of Education.
  • Donna Harpauer remains Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance;
  • Jim Reiter remains Minister of Energy and Resources;
  • Gordon Wyant remains Minister of Advanced Education;
  • Jeremy Harrison remains Minister of Trade and Export Development, Minister of Immigration and Career Training, and Minister responsible for Innovation and Tourism Saskatchewan;
  • David Marit remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation, and also becomes Minister responsible for the Water Security Agency;
  • Don McMorris remains Minister of Government Relations, Minister responsible for First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs and Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission, and also becomes Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety, and the Minister responsible for Workers’ Compensation Board;
  • Bronwyn Eyre remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General;
  • Gene Makowsky remains Minister of Social Services; and
  • Laura Ross remains Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister responsible for the Status of Women and the Lotteries and Gaming Corporation.

The Sask Party Government is coming off losing two of three byelections during the summer, and is looking towards the provincial election in October of 2024.

More from 620 CKRM