Moose Jaw MLA decides to not run in 2024 election

Moose Jaw Wakamow MLA Greg Lawrence has decided to not run again in the 2024 provincial election.

The Saskatchewan Party released a statement from Lawrence, who has been MLA for the riding since 2011.

“I had planned to run again, but after sustaining serious injuries in a motorcycle accident last month, my recovery has been more challenging than I expected,” Lawrence said in the statement.

The single vehicle crash happened in early August, with the Sask Party caucus at the time saying Lawrence was expected to be in hospital a few weeks, recovering from his injuries.   

The Sask Party said there will be a nomination meeting held in the coming months to select a new Saskatchewan Party candidate for Moose Jaw Wakamow.

Seven incumbents for the Saskatchewan Party and two for the opposition NDP have decided not to run. They are Fred Bradshaw, Ken Francis, Delbert Kirsch, Don Morgan, Greg Ottenbreit, Dana Skoropad of the Sask Party and Jennifer Bowes and Doyle Vermette of the NDP.

More from 620 CKRM