CFL announces nominees for Jake Gaudaur Veterans Award

The Canadian Football League (CFL) announced the nominees for the Jake Gaudaur Veterans’ Award on Thursday.

Since 2010, the award recognizes a Canadian CFL player who best demonstrates the attributes of Canada’s veterans – strength, perseverance, courage, comradeship and contribution to Canadian communities.

It’s in honour of Jake Gaudaur, a distinguished veteran of the Second World War and the longest-serving Commissioner in CFL history.

Last year, former Roughriders offensive lineman Dan Clark was selected as the winner.

This year’s nominee from Saskatchewan is wide receiver Brayden Lenius.

Brayden Lenius Photo: Sask. Roughriders

Despite missing the majority of the 2023 season due to injuries, Lenius remained a dedicated teammate and a key contributor in the community. As a Saskatchewan Roughrider Foundation player ambassador, he continues to travel to every corner of the province, teaching youth about healthy relationships, the importance of mental well-being, and healthy coping strategies.

The receiver is also involved with the Win with Wellness and Grow the Game programs and supports Saskatchewan’s elite and amateur football development.

The other nominees are:

BC Lions- Andrew Pierson
Calgary Stampeders- Charlie Power
Edmonton Elks- J-Min Pelley
Winnipeg Blue Bombers- Brady Oliveira
Hamilton Tiger-Cats- Sean Thomas-Erlington
Toronto Argonauts-Deionte Knight
Ottawa REDBLACKS- Jackson Bennett
Montreal Alouettes- Regis Cibasu

The winner will be announced during the CFL Awards on Thursday, November 16.

More from 620 CKRM