CFL honours George Reed with change to Most Outstanding Player Award

Another well deserved honour for the late George Reed.

The Canadian Football League announced on Thursday, the Most Outstanding Player Award would be renamed the George Reed Most Outstanding Player Award.

Toronto Argonauts quarterback Chad Kelly was named the 2023 recipient of the Award, beating out Winnipeg Blue Bombers running back Brady Oliveira.

Reed’s daughter, Georgette presented Kelly with the award during the CFL Awards.

The legendary Roughrider fullback passed away in October.

Reed was named the Most Outstanding Player once in his career (1965). He was also named the Grey Cup MVP in 1966.

The Vicksburg, Miss., product currently ranks second on the CFL’s all-time rushing list behind only Mike Pringle.

Here are the 2023 CFL Award Winners.


Most Outstanding Player: Chad Kelly, QB, Toronto Argonauts
Most Outstanding Defensive Player: Mathieu Betts, DL, BC Lions
Most Outstanding Canadian: Brady Oliveira, RB, Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Dejon Allen, OL, Toronto Argonauts
Most Outstanding Special Teams Player: Javon Leake, RB, Toronto Argonauts
Most Outstanding Rookie: Qwan’tez Stiggers, DB, Toronto Argonauts
Coach of the Year: Ryan Dinwiddie, Toronto Argonauts

More from 620 CKRM