One more shot to qualify for the Tankard

The four remaining spots of the 2024 Tankard will be decided in Prince Albert.

Action will begin today at the Tankard Last Chance Event (Jan.11-14).

17 teams will be competing in a triple-knockout event to determine the remaining four clubs that will head to the Tankard.

Curling stones .THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck

Teams competing at the Tankard Last Chance Event are Brandon Zuravloff (Yorkton Curling Club), Daymond Bernath(Nutana Curling Club, Saskatoon), Michael Carss (Nutana Curling Club, Saskatoon), Dylan Derksen (Sutherland Curling Club, Saskatoon), Matthew Drewitz (Nutana Curling Club, Saskatoon), Garrett Fedak (Foam Lake Curling Club), Jeff Hartung (Langenburg Curling Club), Jordan Henry (Prince Albert Curling Club), Josh Heidt (Kerrobert Curling Club), Ethan Jones (Callie Curling Club, Regina), Team Krepps (Maidstone), Mitchell Heidt (Kerrobert), Brayden Mohns (Highland Curling Club, Regina), Nathen Pomedli (Wadena Curling Club), Brendan Ross (Swift Current Curling Club), Garret Springer (Highland Curling Club, Regina),and Allan Walter (Lampman Curling Club).

The “A” Final will go on Saturday at 2:00 to determine the first rink to advance to the Tankard.

On Sunday, the remaining three spots will be decided. The “B” Final will go at 10:00, with the two “C” Final matchups at 2:00.

Awaiting the winners from this week’s Tankard Last Chance Event are the eight teams that have already qualified. Mike McEwen (Nutana Curling Club, Saskatoon), Rylan Kleiter (Nutana Curling Club, Saskatoon), Kelly Knapp (Highland Curling Club, Regina), Dustin Kalthoff (Nutana Curling Club, Saskatoon), Steven Laycock (Nutana Curling Club, Saskatoon), Jason Jacobson (Nutana Curling Club, Saskatoon), Kelly Hartung (Nutana Curling Club, Saskatoon), Randy Bryden (Callie Curling Club, Regina).

The 2024 Tankard is in Saskatoon from January 30-February 4 at the Nutana Curling Club, with the winner advancing to the 2024 Brier in Regina (March 1-10).

More from 620 CKRM