Lineup begins to fill up for 2024 Brier

Just over a month away until the best Men’s Curling rinks in the country compete in Regina at the 2024 Brier.

The lineup has began filling up with provincial playdowns beginning across the country.

Curling stones .THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck

In BC, the title was decided with Catlin Schneider beat Jason Montgomery 5-2 in the final. A former Saskatchewan curler, Schneider will be making his fourth appearance at the Brier.

The Newfoundland Labrador championship was claimed by Andrew Symonds after he defeated Greg Smith 7-5 in the provincial final.

Northern Ontario will have a first-time representative after Trevor Bonot picked up a 7-5 victory over Tanner Horgan.

Matthew Manuel of Halifax beat Owen Purcell 8-2 in the Nova Scotia finals.

In the Ontario final, Scott Howard skipped his rink to victory over Jayden King 8-7, this will be Howards 9th appearance at the Brier.

Tyler Smith will represent P.E.I. for the fourth straight year after he picked up 8-3 over Jaime Newson.

Jean-Michel Arsenault will be the representative for Quebec after he defeated Felix Asselin 7-6 in an extra end.

Jamie Koe of Yellowknife swept Nick Saturnino in a best-of-five series to claim the Northwest Territory title.

Nunavut will be led by the Shane Latimer rink.

Thomas Scoffin’s rink won a three-team playdown in the Yukon.

The provincial champions will join the previously qualified rinks in Brad Gushue, Matt Dunstone and Brendan Bottcher.

This weekend Saskatchewan and New Brunswick will decide their provincial representatives, with provincial playdowns in Alberta and Manitoba the following week.

More from 620 CKRM