Sask Sports Hall of Fame Announcing its Newest Inductees

Athletes from 151 different communities in Saskatchewan have now been enshrined in the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame.

The Hall announced its latest inductees which feature key athletes and builders from rural Saskatchewan.


Ray Mitsuing (Loon Lake) – Rodeo

Carl Olson (Fir Mountain) – Rodeo

Chelsea Stone (Mazzei) (Regina) – Taekwondo


Karen Howard (Melville) – Figure Skating

Wayne Hellquist (North Battleford) – Volleyball


Sherry Anderson Senior Women’s Curling Rink

2003-04 University of Saskatchewan Huskies Men’s Volleyball Team

“We are pleased to see rodeo, a sport with deep roots in Saskatchewan, be recognized with two very worthy inductees this year,” said Erin Stankewich, Executive Director of the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame. “Our mission is to celebrate Saskatchewan sport in all of its facets. With inductees from rodeo, curling, figure skating, taekwondo, and volleyball, we are pleased to honour this great class of inductees and shine a light on their accomplishments and respective sports.  This class really celebrates the diversity of sporting achievement that we see in the province.”

For Loon Lake, and Fir Mountain, these are the first honourees from their communities.

More from 620 CKRM