Individuals’ altruism appreciated with 2023 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal

Lt.Gov. Russ Mirasty celebrated the altruism of 10 exceptional individuals with the 2023 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal.

Their selfless efforts in various fields, including youth development and women’s issues, were commended during a ceremony at Government House. Those individuals are:

  • Jyotsna (Jo) Custead
  • Suzanne Eisler
  • Major (Ret’d) Brad Hrycyna, C.D.
  • Jim Meikle
  • Douglas Osborn
  • Jeanette Tonita
  • Pat Tymchatyn
  • Hazel Urbanoski
  • Dr. Judy White
  • Helga Wold

Mirasty underscored the importance of volunteerism, honouring their contributions during National Volunteer Week.

“I am honoured to have been able to meet these recipients and to recognize their exceptional contributions during National Volunteer Week,” Mirasty said in a media release.

Maj. (Ret’d) Brad Hyrcyna is a 37-year veteran of the Canadian Forces and is president of the Royal United Services Institute of Regina, and has created and led projects like the 28 pedestals around the cenotaph in Regina.

Hazel Urbanoski of Sturgis is a creative and passionate teacher in the Sturgis area, was an active member of the Sturgis Communities in Bloom and as president of the Grace United Church Women.

Nominations for the 2024 volunteer medal will be open until the end of October.

More from 620 CKRM