2021 World Junior Hockey Championship

SK linesman looking to turn some heads at World Juniors

Dec 26, 2020 | 6:56am

With the World Junior Hockey Championship being played in a bubble at Edmonton’s Rogers Place, all of the officials working the event are from Canada. One of the 26 is Yorkton’s Tarrington Wyonzek. Wyonzek, who has called many SJHL and WHL games, says getting to work the World Juniors is a dream come true. Like […]

Report: Canadian Captain Kirby Dach to miss entire 2021 World Juniors

Dec 24, 2020 | 9:23am

Multiple reports say Team Canada will be without captain Kirby Dach for the entire duration of the World Junior Hockey Championships. Dach appeared to injure his wrist in a 1-0 pre-tournament win over Russia on Wednesday, after an awkward collision Dach immediately skated to the Canadian bench and went down the tunnel to the dressing […]

Canada’s World Junior team has three Saskatchewan players on it

Dec 11, 2020 | 3:00pm

When Canada takes to the ice at Rogers Place in Edmonton for the first game of the 2021 World Junior Hockey Championship, there will be three players representing Saskatchewan. Hockey Canada announced what 25 players will don the maple leaf at the tournament and on the list are Saskatoon’s Connor Zary, Prince Albert’s Braden Schneider […]

3 Saskatchewan-born players invited to Canada’s World Junior camp

Oct 29, 2020 | 2:04pm

46 players have been invited to the Team Canada World Junior Team selection camp. 15 of the 48 are from the WHL with three of them from Saskatchewan. Saskatoon’s Connor Zary (pictured), who is a member of the Kamloops Blazers, has been named as has Yorkton defenceman Kaeden Korczak (Kelowna) and Prince Albert’s Braden Schneider […]

National Junior Team summer camp has solid Saskatchewan content

Jun 16, 2020 | 4:38pm

Saskatoon’s Adam Beckman (pictured) is one of four players invited by Hockey Canada to the National Junior Team summer development camp which will be held virtually at the end of July. Beckman, who won the league’s MVP and top scorer award as a member of the Spokane Chiefs last season, will be joined by fellow […]